Jazz Educator of the Year Award

Nominating a jazz educator for this award is a very easy process.  Here is how it works:

1.You must be a current member of the WJE (check with Leesa Kuhlmann to see if you are current.
Nominate a colleague for the award who also must be a current member.

2. Write a short paragraph explaining why you are nominating and how the nominee has influenced, impacted, or promoted jazz in our schools, community, or state.

3. Submit the nomination by email to the WJE secretary by November 1st and at that time they will send the information out to the WJE membership body and we will collectively vote on the award winner. The winner will be announced and receive their award at the WMEA conference banquet in January.

Past Jazz Educators of the Year - 

2024 - Chad Rose

2023 - Steve Schofield

2022 - Brennan Baglio

2021 - Brent Rose

2020 - Dr. Eric Richards

2019 - Ben Markley

2018 - Shawn Weis

2017 - Nick Simons

2016 - Gino Hernandez

2015 - Christopher Lubken

2014 - Larry Munari

2013 - Neil Hanson


WY Jazz Educator of the Year Info